What "no experience" really means
Few remote customer service postings ask for zero experience. Most ask for 6 to 12 months of any customer-facing work, and retail or food service counts. Concentrix asks for "6+ months of customer service experience"; Williams-Sonoma, CVS Health and Liveops ask for one year (employer pages, October 2026).
Three pages set no experience bar. TTEC requires age 17 or older and a high school diploma or GED (ttecjobs.com, October 2026). Foundever's remote posting asks for age 18 or older and a diploma or GED (jobs.foundever.com, October 16, 2026). U-Haul's remote phone agent posting lists equipment rules but no prior job (jobs.uhaul.com, October 19, 2026).
Employee or contractor
Employees (TTEC, Foundever, Concentrix, Alorica, CVS Health, U-Haul, Williams-Sonoma, Progressive) get an hourly rate, paid training and, in most cases, company equipment. Progressive states "We'll provide the necessary computer and work equipment" (Work From Home Standards, September 22, 2025). Independent contractors (Liveops, Working Solutions, Arise) buy their own equipment, handle their own taxes, and are paid per client program. Liveops calls its agents "self-employed 1099 contractor[s]" and charges a non-refundable $25 background check fee (join.liveops.com, October 2026). Arise states "This is not an offer of employment" and lists a $30 background check, a $35 to $100 headset, and a platform fee of $19.75 twice a month (ariseworkfromhome.com/costs, October 2026). Working Solutions lists "no cost or fees for preparation" (jobs.workingsolutions.com, October 2026). A fee published on the platform's own site is a term you can read first. A fee demanded by a "recruiter" in a chat app is a scam; see job scams in 2026.
Who hires: what each employer's own page says
Every row was read on the employer's own site in October 2026. Postings change weekly.
Scroll horizontally to view every column.
| Employer | Status | What the page asks for | Where you can live | Stated pay | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TTEC | Part-time employee, 20 hours a week minimum | Windows PC, 8 GB RAM; 30 Mbps down and 3 up; USB wired headset; noise-free office; age 17+ | States not listed | Not stated; training paid | athome.ttecjobs.com; ttecjobs.com |
| Foundever (formerly Sitel Group, renamed March 1, 2023) | Employee | Hardwired 25 Mbps down, 10 up; equipment provided; quiet space; webcam on in training; age 18+ | Remote, any US location (posting of October 16, 2026) | $17 an hour | jobs.foundever.com |
| Concentrix | Seasonal employee | High-speed internet, no wireless, hotspot or satellite; own PC for testing; smartphone; quiet space; 6+ months customer service | Must reside in the United States | $15.00 to $17.00 an hour | jobs.concentrix.com |
| Alorica | Full-time employee | 6 months banking and 6 months call center experience; home office in a private residence at the address on file | Remote, United States | $16 an hour; daily or weekly pay option | alorica-hire.bling-ai.com |
| CVS Health (Oak Street Health contact center) | Full-time employee, 40 hours | Internet hardwired to router or modem; private, distraction-free space; dependent care during work hours; 1 year customer service | 51 locations listed | $17.00 to $34.15 an hour range | jobs.cvshealth.com, R1055334 |
| U-Haul | Part-time employee, 25 hours of availability | Windows 11 PC, 16 GB RAM; 50 Mbps down, 5 up, ping under 100 ms; webcam; wired USB headset; quiet workspace; childcare arranged | Not CA, CO, CT, MD, MA, NJ, NY, OR, RI, WA or DC | $16 an hour to start, up to $19 within 6 to 9 months | jobs.uhaul.com, R257359 |
| Williams-Sonoma | Seasonal full-time employee | Windows 11 PC, 6 GB RAM; external webcam; wired USB headset; internet tested by System Checker; 1+ years customer service | 20 states listed, from AZ and TX to OH and northern NV | $15.00 an hour | wsgc.applicantstack.com |
| Progressive | Employee | Distraction-free workspace with high-speed internet; some customer care roles must be hardwired; company provides computer and equipment; phone for VPN | United States only | Not stated on these pages | careers.progressive.com |
| Liveops | Independent contractor (1099) | Wired internet; Windows PC; Android or Apple phone; 1 year phone-based support; $25 background check fee | 35 states listed on the posting | Varies by client program; "most programs pay for productive time" | join.liveops.com |
| Working Solutions | Independent contractor | Hard-wired 10 Mbps down, 3 up, no Wi-Fi; Windows 11, 8 GB RAM; wired USB headset; quiet office; no fees | United States, Canada or Jamaica | Not stated; a stipend may be paid for preparation time | jobs.workingsolutions.com |
| Arise | Independent contractor; "not an offer of employment" | $30 background check; $35 to $100 headset; platform fee $19.75 twice a month; equipment policy in a PDF dated January 1, 2026 | US, UK, Canada, Jamaica, India, Philippines | Not stated | ariseworkfromhome.com |
Not in the table: Apple's careers site returned no US "At Home Advisor" openings on October 19, 2026, and the Humana and Conduent remote postings we opened had expired (October 2026).
Equipment and internet: the common rules
- Wired connection. Foundever, Working Solutions, Liveops and CVS Health require a cable from router to computer. Concentrix bars wireless, hotspots and satellite. Speeds run from 10 Mbps down and 3 up (Working Solutions) to 50 down and 5 up (U-Haul).
- Windows only. TTEC, Liveops, Working Solutions, Williams-Sonoma and U-Haul require a Windows PC; Macs, Chromebooks and tablets fail at TTEC and Liveops.
- Wired USB headset and webcam. Named by Williams-Sonoma, U-Haul and Working Solutions; wireless and Bluetooth headsets are not supported at Williams-Sonoma.
- Who buys it. Foundever and Progressive provide equipment to employees. Contractors buy everything. TTEC tests you on your own PC.
What it pays
Posted starting rates in October 2026 run from $15.00 (Williams-Sonoma, Concentrix) to $17.50 (U-Haul roadside assistance agents, bilingual French). For the occupation as a whole, customer service representatives (SOC 43-4051) earned a national median of $21.53 an hour in May 2025, with the 10th percentile at $15.27 and the 25th at $17.72; remote postings cluster between those two.
Scroll horizontally to view every column.
| Area | 10th percentile | Median | 90th percentile | Jobs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | $15.27 | $21.53 | $30.57 | 2,595,750 |
| Atlanta | $14.53 | $20.54 | $29.82 | 59,990 |
| Austin | $14.67 | $21.02 | $29.62 | 32,690 |
| Boston | $17.17 | $24.00 | $36.51 | 37,780 |
| Chicago | $16.58 | $22.65 | $34.39 | 75,240 |
| Dallas-Fort Worth | $15.08 | $21.63 | $29.80 | 96,930 |
| Denver | $18.26 | $23.36 | $34.47 | 23,560 |
| Houston | $13.75 | $19.42 | $28.77 | 65,510 |
| Los Angeles | $18.24 | $23.48 | $35.99 | 66,590 |
| Miami | $14.91 | $19.02 | $29.16 | 63,440 |
| New York | $17.75 | $23.84 | $37.16 | 125,570 |
| Orlando | $15.23 | $19.48 | $28.05 | 35,690 |
| Phoenix | $17.00 | $22.31 | $30.84 | 68,930 |
| Seattle | $19.81 | $25.75 | $36.67 | 25,840 |
Source: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025. A remote job pays the employer's rate, not your metro's median. More: pay benchmarks for hourly jobs, best cities for remote customer service jobs, and, since Alorica offers daily or weekly pay, jobs with weekly pay.
The scam check before you apply
Remote customer service is the job title scammers copy most. Every employer above has a careers domain, and Concentrix shows a "recruitment fraud alert" on its careers home page (jobs.concentrix.com, October 2026). A recruiter who writes from a free email address, moves you to WhatsApp or Telegram, or asks for a deposit is not one of these employers. The routine is at how to check if a job is real; the most common fake remote job is in task scams explained. Not sure remote work fits you? Take the remote fit quiz.
Current openings
See remote jobs and customer service jobs nationwide. By city: remote jobs in Dallas, New York, Phoenix and Austin; customer service jobs in Dallas, Atlanta, Chicago and New York.
More customer service openings
Current source-linked listings could not be confirmed in this sample. Check the category search and each original posting for availability.
How to verify a listing
Every JobPin card links to its source posting and shows the provider's posted date and a "last seen" date. Open the source, then find the same job on the employer's own careers domain and compare the title, pay and state list. Never pay a recruiter or buy equipment from a recruiter's link. How the dates work: how JobPin verifies listings.
How JobPin dates and sources listings: How JobPin verifies listings and events. Report a listing.